Central Otago Accommodation
The original stone complex, located in Clyde’s historic precinct, was built by Benjamin Naylor in 1869 as a general store, servicing the prospectors who sought their fortunes during the Otago gold rush. Today, in recognition of its outstanding heritage value, Olivers is protected by the New Zealand Historic Places Trust with a priority category one classification.
Inspired by the past, owners Andrea and David Ritchie have sensitively restored the buildings including an elegant homestead, the old store, coach sheds, stables and barns. Landscaping highlights the original central courtyard and gardens.
Eleven rooms, divided into Stables and Lodge accommodation, superbly blend the old with the new creating a contemporary ambience integrally linked with bygone days.
The renowned Olivers Restaurant, a craft brewery, a bakery and cafe will open once their refurbishment is complete, planned for late summer 2015.
The Ritchies believe in protecting the beautiful village of Clyde and its surrounding area which is why environmental sustainability and health considerations are important in shaping the way they plan, develop and operate the business.
The Olivers restoration is breathing new life into one of the region’s most striking heritage structures. A stay at this distinctively Central Otago property is a unique boutique accommodation experience and a must for those cycling the Otago Rail Trail.